Minerva Learning Trust


The Governing Board

The Governing Board has a size of 20 full governors plus associate members who attend meetings but have no voting rights. The composition consists: 7 governors elected by parents and carers of students at the school, 8 co-opted governors from outside the school, four co-opted governors elected by the school staff, one LA nominated governor and the Head Teacher. The Governing Board appoints co-opted and associate members, trying to ensure representation from all groups with children at the school and the wider community. Choices of co-opted governors are also made to ensure that the Governing Board has the full range of required skills. Many of the co-opted governors have children at the school. The term of office is four years with the exception of the Headteacher.

The current chair (since April 2016) is David Mowbray who now has one child at the school plus two others who left in 2018 and 2015. His background is in higher education as an academic in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sheffield.

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please do so by letter to the school address.

Committee Structure

In addition to the full Governing Board, which meets at least once a term, there are three sub-committees listed below with their chairs and vice chairs:

  • Learning and Achievement –  Ian Ashmore (chair), Mike Holland (vice chair)
  • Resources - Mohammed Mahroof (chair), Michele Saffer (vice chair)
  • Students and Community – Ben Anderson (chair), Shaylla Shabbir (vice chair)

Remit of the Governing Board

The overarching functions and responsibility of High Storrs’ Governing Board are those set out in the DfE Governance Handbook under ‘The essentials of effective governance’

All boards, whether in the maintained or academy sector and no matter how many schools they are responsible for, have three core functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Heateacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

In greater detail the Governing Board has the following core functions / responsibilities

Establishing the strategic direction, by:

  • Setting the vision, values, and objectives for the school(s)/trust
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets
  • Meeting statutory duties

Ensuring accountability, by:

  • Appointing the Headteacher
  • Monitoring progress towards targets
  • Performance managing the Headteacher
  • Engaging with stakeholders
  • Contributing to school self-evaluation

Ensuring financial probity, by:

  • Setting the budget
  • Monitoring spending against the budget
  • Ensuring value for money is obtained
  • Ensuring risks to the organisation are managed

The Governing Board also contributes to other high level appointments and forms panels to consider permanent exclusions and staff grievances and discipline. Significant changes to staffing structure or the curriculum require governor approval. Governors monitor exam results and student attendance and behaviour. The Governing Board’s knowledge of the school is enhanced by a cycle of subject and pastoral support visits. Governors undertake regular CPD. Each house has a link governor who attends Celebration of Success events. There are also link governors covering the following: Child Protection and Safeguarding, Health and Safety, LGBT, SEN and the School Council.

The Governing Board was reconstituted in April 2015 and terms of office for co-opted governors were reset to start on this date. 

Please find the list of Pecuniary Interests below:

If you have any enquiries for Governing Board at High Storrs, please contact Rachel Farthing or send in a letter via the post marked for the attention of David Mowbray, Chair of Governors.

High Storrs Governor Roles


Full Governing Board

Chair: David Mowbray 

Vice Chair: Simon Price

Learning and Achievement committee

Chair: Ian Ashmore

Vice Chair: Mike Holland



Chair: Mahroof Mohammed

Vice Chair: Michele Saffer


Students and Community

Chair: Ben Anderson

Vice Chair: Shaylla Shabbir

Our Y6 Open evening is coming up! We look forward to seeing you on Thursday 23rd September 2021 5.30 - 7.30pm!

Covid measures will be in place so we ask that you please bring a mask and a pen with you.

Why not have a look at our Transition videos at vimeo.com/showcase/trans… pic.twitter.com/Hn2xfFhjCS
Congratulations to our alumni Noah for his wonderful performance in East is East at the Birmingham Rep!

Thank you so much @tompalmerauthor for coming to speak to our Y7s yesterday! They really enjoyed it and had some fantastic questions for you. Your books have flown our of the library today! ??

School Links

Child Protection, Safeguarding & Online Safety: Jon Whittle and Permala Sehmar

SEN: Sarah Evans

Pupil Premium: Michele Saffer

Sixth Form: Simon Price

Governor Training: Jon Whittle and Jane Smith

Health and Safety: Cosma Williams

School Exclusions & Disciplinary Committees: David Mowbray

Student Council: Cosma Williams

House Links


Crucible House: Jane Smith

Lyceum House: Simon Price

Merlin House: Mahroof Mohammed

Montgomery:  House David Mowbray