Minerva Learning Trust

Forms & Houses

Students at High Storrs are organised into four houses, each comprising students in groups from Year 7 to Year 11. This provides ‘a community within a community’, as each House contains only 300 students, and makes it possible for students to get to know and support each other, regardless of their age. We have been following this system since 2008 and it has proved to be highly successful.

The advantages of the Houses System:

It provides our students with continuity, as they are able to stay with the same tutor for all five years, who will support them throughout their educational, social and personal development.

Assemblies are run on a House basis, and older students who receive prizes and awards act as role models for younger students, helping raise aspirations.

A mentoring scheme is also in place, with older students supporting the younger ones.

Even when students move up to Sixth Form, there is still a scheme in place to provide Sixth Form liaison teams for the younger students.


Head of House: Mrs L Chenery, Student Support: Mrs M Lomas


  • Cr01 Mrs T Gibbs
  • Cr02 Mr J Byers
  • Cr03 Mr G McMahon
  • Cr04 Ms C Billingsley and Mrs R Johnson
  • Cr05 Ms L Broughton
  • Cr06 Dr Z Bellamy
  • Cr07 Miss V Bates and Mrs S Eglinton
  • Cr08 Miss N Manaton
  • Cr09 Mr R Parker
  • Cr10 Ms D Higginbottom


Head of House: Miss R Ashley, Student Support: Mrs A Osborne


  • Ly01 Mr J Lockwood
  • Ly02 Miss E Young
  • Ly03 Mrs D Barker and Mr I Wilson
  • Ly04 Miss C Diskin
  • Ly05 Mr L Hughes
  • Ly06 Ms F Glew
  • Ly07 Mr J Hogan
  • Ly08 Mr M Davies
  • Ly09 Miss G Allen and Mrs I Graham-Yooll
  • Ly10 Mrs J McManus and Mrs E Hetherington 


Head of House: Mr I O'Connor, Student Support: Mrs M Stephens


  • Me01 Mr B Haigh
  • Me02 Mr M Joy
  • Me03 Mr E Padmore and Mrs N Campion
  • Me04 Mr M Evans and Mrs K Myles
  • Me05 Mrs J Wood
  • Me06 Ms N Miller
  • Me07 Mr H Nixon
  • Me08 Ms R Croome
  • Me09 Mr D Hurst
  • Me10 Mrs E Hoey and Miss E Wharton


Head of House: Mr N Mallaband, Student Support: Ms J Jilani


  • Mo01 Mr D Howell and Miss K Fulford
  • Mo02 Mrs J Westmoreland and Mrs E Smith
  • Mo03 Ms J Armitage
  • Mo04 Mr M Bennehan
  • Mo05 Mrs C Heraghty
  • Mo06 Mr M Hutchinson
  • Mo07 Mr B Wells
  • Mo08 Mr B Lowe 
  • Mo09 Mr P Russell
  • Mo10 Miss C Ferrier